Grace for Grief

On April 22nd my beloved cousin died at the young age of 49. She discovered a lump doing her breast self-exam, and it turned out to be an aggressive form of breast cancer.

After she died, I struggled with unbelief, and I experienced so many different emotions. They ranged from intense sadness, to anger, and to pain, before I got to peace and rest. Here’s how I got there.

I saw Jesus (grace) right in the middle of it. My cousin was a Christian, which means she believed in Jesus and His sacrifice at Calvary, which gifted her with eternal life. That’s grace. The bible teaches that Jesus bore our griefs and sorrows as well, so I realized I didn’t have to bear it, because Jesus did it for me. That’s grace. The bible also teaches that we don’t grieve like those without hope. Our hope is Jesus and Jesus is God’s grace.

When I remembered the goodness and grace of God, I saw Jesus providing eternal life for her through His sacrifice, and I saw Him providing peace and rest for me through His work of bearing my grief and sorrow. If I could talk to her now I know she’d tell me she wouldn’t come back here for nothing. She’d tell me how the trinity greeted her with a warm welcoming party, and about how she was reunited with her daddy and other loved ones. She’d tell me how she’s setting things in order and cracking everybody up in the process. When I think about her now I smile and laugh, and cherish all the precious memories of our times together.

If you’re in a place of grief and sorrow, see Jesus and His work right in the middle of it, and you will find grace for your grief.

p.s. ladies please do your monthly breast self-exam and get your mammograms.

Love,

Miss Terri

Comments on: "Grace for Grief" (3)

  1. Anita Thrower said:

    Terri,
    Your post is so very transparent. I felt in my spirit when we heard the news of Shanee’s passing that you were going to struggle with it. God is such a good God because He always gives us the chance to seek Him for the exact thing that our souls are needing. We need His never ending grace to realize that the things we need have already been given to us freely. We have reached the 30 day process of grieving that God gave the children of Isreal. This is so very significant in that we also have been given precious time to spend with Jesus to receive His amazing grace in each thing we must grieve. This insight you testify of has especially been given to you to strengthen you to testify about this part of our faith. Hallelujah! This really blessed me as I am preparing myself to experience all that He has willed for me. Mama is feeling much grief from Mary’s passing; Maybe this revelation is for her as well.

Leave a comment